Twitter and The Case for Stickiness

IMG_4450

I have always been a proponent of Twitter. I remember early in Twitter’s infancy I would read nayser’s ‘Letters to the Editor’ in AdAge; generally they focused on the irrelevancy of Twitter. I have searched for articles again and can’t find it–even Google hasn’t found any traffic for them or vice versa–simple a low-to-no indexing for irrelevant articles.

I use several Twitter handles–my oldest persona is JamesTheWineGuy with approximately 27,400 followers. Thought in the wine world that is above average but by no means do I have “a lot” of followers. I do qualify it in that people who specialize in wine have recently increased their followers considerably. My guess is that these people have bought followers; a very bad idea. While I might have 27,300 followers–I know I have a receptive following. More often than not I get an answer to a question or my tweets are retweeted often.

Dick Costolo standing down as CEO of Twitter is a good thing. I tried figuring out why he was CEO to begin with? I still have not come up with an answer. The Twitterverse has done well in spite of him. I haven’t see Costolo working towards a creating a vision of social media rather just keeping a business as usual posture. In the highly competitive world of social media a prominent position cannot be taken for granted. For granted might be clinging to one’s laurels in that Twitter is constantly mentioned on news programs, television shows, and an overwhelming large percentages of websites.

Twitter needs to become stickier. I like Facebook but don’t love it either. There is a high level of stickiness with FB. I never look at a particular brand or personalities FB page – I just would rather go to that particular website. I don’t find Facebook a richer way of seeing a brand.
I personally don’t spend too much time on any particular media with one exception YouTube. YouTube because I am viewing videos or uploading or maintaining my own.

Wine is a great category for Twitter to perhaps model other categories. Wine is a very sticky category in a space that doesn’t offer too much to stick to. I do believe there is a way for Twitter to figure that out–just depends on who is in the captain’s chair.

Positive Twitter Attributes:

Anyone can view a message; do not have to be a user – I think that is a good thing
You can view a personality or a brand and see their thoughts, offerings and positions. You can even interact and perhaps will be lucky enough to get a response from a highly profiled person or brand
Can list all of your thoughts and it doesn’t matter if there is a logical flow. A stream of consciences is a allowed
Have a direct relationship with people of similar interest
Meet people that you could have never connected in any other way

Opportunities for Improvement for Twitter:

Able to create many more community experiences
Be better able to display / deal with picture and video; think Instagram
Increase characters to 150?
Verified – why not offer this as a service where someone can purchase? (i.e. has to be the person that is being verified)
Removing fake accounts; Twitter has worked well on reducing spam
Make trending more meaningful — trending with few Tweets makes this truly a useful attribute

I have meet many people and I like my interactions on Twitter for the most part–this is a great part of the value proposition. I have meet people virtually that I look forward to meeting in person. Have made durable relationship that were far flung (i.e. the opportunity to have meet people remotely has been valuable). I do think many people hope to make a far flung connection in which there are common interests.

Twitter needs to understand stickiness to retain it’s lauded spot of constant mentioning. Stickiness is the great opportunity for Twitter–it will be interesting if Twitter can not only understand but to find a way to become stickier. I cannot imagine not saying in the videos closing by saying you will find me on Twitter. And that social media on ramp needs to constantly enhanced, updated and maintained –like any physical freeway onramp.

© 2015 James Meléndez / Jams the Tech Guy – All Rights Reserved.

James the Tech Guy is also James the Wine Guy. He is on Facebook, Twitter and most major social medias.

Subscribe and check out my tech videos: https://www.youtube.com/user/jamestechguy
Follow me on Twitter: @jamestechguy

Leave a Reply

